Fox News Channel Sensationalism Follow-Up

Sorry folks, apparently I cannot embed YouTube videos onto WordPress the way I was thinking I should, so I am going to give this another go here.

You can refer to my last post for a more specific explanation and my own personal opinion on it, but I would also like the opinions of my readers.  Do you think Bill O’Reilly, Gretchen Carlson, and Margaret Hoover overreacted to Lady Gaga’s “Telephone” music video?  You decide.

And as I mentioned before, Fox News seems to be a source that is quick to use sensationalized or graphic video to make a point of what they are discussing, but I think it is just a way for them to boost ratings.  At any rate, here is another “O’Reilly Factor” segment in which O’Reilly, Carlson and Hoover “defend” the use of such video in their broadcasts.  (Just pay attention to the first part of the segment.  Whoever uploaded this on YouTube included their other discussion about “Jon and Kate Plus 8.”)

So is Fox News right in using such clips to illustrate their specific stories?  You make the call.

Again, if you do not know what I am talking about, refer back to my last post where I failed to properly embed the two videos.  And coming up is a review of another TV news source that has been under fire for quite a lot of sensationalism, some of it even worse than what Fox News is pulling.

About thebroadcastdiaries

I am a senior at Bowling Green State University majoring in Broadcast Journalism. I have had experiences in broadcasting starting in high school, continuing on into college and interning at a local radio station in Akron. My goal for this blog is to explain the broadcasting business to the average reader as I continue to study and pursue my broadcasting career.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

